Skip to content ↓

Society Health & Development

There are currently three courses running at Brentford School for Girls:

  • BTEC First Diploma = (4 GCSEs)
  • BTEC Level 2 Award = (1 GCSE)
  • Home Economics: Child Development GCSE = (1 GCSE)
  • BTEC First National = (3 A Levels)

What is the purpose of courses in Society, Health & Development?

The BTEC is designed to give you an insight into what it is like in the Health and Social Care field. It is a more vocational course. This means that it is work related. Therefore, this means that often it gives you an idea of what it is like to work as a care support worker, health care assistant, nurse, social worker and many other occupations. The Child Development GCSE examines the development of a child and the principles of good childcare up until the ages of 5 years old.  

All of the courses involve an element of work experience and the opportunity to gain a First Aid Course.

How do you decide which course is best for you?

In Key Stage Four (Year 10 and 11):

We look to see what you achieved in your SATS. Those achieving below a level 5 will go onto the BTEC First Diploma or BTEC Award or Child Care GCSE. 

In Key Stage Five (Year 12, 13 and 14):

The BTEC National is a 3 A – Level equivalent and focuses on eighteen units of various health and social care related topics, To enrol on this course, you must have 5 GCSE’s A*-C or at BTEC First Diploma in Health and Social Care awarded at merit or distinction. A C in English and Maths is vital to enrolling on this course.